SBAT: Certificate III in Information Technology

Course Code :: ICT30120

Course Description

A school-based apprenticeship or traineeship (SBAT) arrangement combines part-time work, structured training with a registered training organisation and school studies.

SBAT is available to high school students in Year 11 & 12 and enables them to gain a nationally recognised qualification and combine their school study with paid employment, as well as the opportunity to gain valuable work skills and increase future employment options.

A SBAT may give students credit towards their Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE) or Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL).

This qualification provides the skills and knowledge for an individual to be competent in a wide range of general information and communications technology (ICT) technical functions and to achieve a degree of self-sufficiency as an advanced ICT user.

Course Information
Who Should Attend?

Students who are looking to develop skills in administering and the maintenance of the user environment for computer networks.

Course Outcomes

Training is primarily provided using the networking elective units which will allow progression into the Certificate IV in Information Technology Networking qualification. For more in-depth information please see the Information Technology Job Pathways Chart.

Entry Requirements

There are no entry requirements for this qualification but learners are subjected to a pre-training review to confirm suitability.

Employability Skills

There are no entry requirements for this qualification but learners are subjected to a pre-training review to confirm suitability.


Assessment is ongoing during the program and includes undertaking workplace specific activities and obtaining feedback from your trainer or workplace supervisor. Assessment is conducted via a range of techniques:

  • Resentations
  • Oral questioning
  • Written tests
  • Simulation
  • Projects/ case studies
  • Trainer/ assessor observations

Integrity will offer alternative methods of assessment to learners with special needs, subject to discussion and mutual agreement on what is required, on an individual basis (this is identified during the pre-training review).

Core Units
  • ICTSAS308 – Provide Standard Diagnostic Tests
Elective Units
  • BSBCRT301 – Develop and Extend Critical and Creative thinking skills
  • ICTNWK311 – Install and Test Network Protocols
  • BSBXTW301 – Work in a Team
  • ICTNWK307 – Provide Network System Administration
  • ICTNWK309 – Configuere and Adminster Network Operating Systems
Recognition of Prior Learning or Current Competencies (RPL/RCC)

Many individuals may already be competent in one or more of the units of competency. RPL and RCC is available for each unit of competency based on relevant workplace experience, formal training or other expertise. Recognition will involve submission of your evidence in the form of a portfolio.

Information Brochure

Download Brochure


Course Durations


Fees and Charges

Register your interest with us today and start learning.